Mums The Boss – The Blog

Out of the Mouths of Babes….

Posted on: June 29, 2009

CB104574When you first have a baby you long for the day they can talk. Then, as soon as they can you realise a) they never stop and b) there is now a very strong possibility they will embarass you in public by saying something toe-curlingly un-PC about someone’s size, gender, appearance or smell!

But the flipside of this ever present danger, is that every now and then they come out with nuggets of pure brilliance – little sayings that stop you in your tracks, make you marvel at the way their minds work and maybe even force you to look at the world in a new way. And sometimes they just say something that is SO random that all it does is make you laugh and laugh and laugh….

Take my 3 year old, for example. A week or so ago I was compelled to Tweet about something she had just said to me. She was running round and round the garden and suddenly shouted “Mummy, mummy, I’m faster than a PEANUT!” Excited as she was at the revelation, I couldn’t quite bring myself to burst her bubble and tell her that, in fact, MOST things are!

So, as it’s Monday, it’s muggy and we could all do with a giggle, please leave a comment and share any of your children’s finest moments – from the profound to the obscure, we’d love to hear your children’s classic quotes!

3 Responses to "Out of the Mouths of Babes…."

When I took my eldest into the ladies as a toddler, someone rather urgently entered the next stall and started peeing, at which stage my 3-year-old said very loudly ‘Mummy, why is that person having a shower!’ Don’t you just love ’em?

I took my nephew to the ladies in some public toilets while on holiday in Padstow. Whilst sharing a cubicle with him in the very busy toilets he asked me very loudly “Aunty Kelly WHY don’t you have a penis?”

The whole toilet went quiet awaiting my reply!

well this one was from Mari last week she wanted to get some sweet in an old fashioned sweet shop.

Shopkeeper to Mari :’ hello what sweet would you like?’

Mari ‘minty mouths please ‘
(I say mint imperials please )

Shopkeeper to Mari: how much would you like ?

Mari ‘ten thousand pound please !!’

Shop keeper grinning looks to me i grin back and say 50 pence please

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

Pages

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
